New DPAC Board

(article from the Prince George Citizen)

Some new names were added to the Prince George district parent advisory board of directors during an annual general meeting on Tuesday night.

Newcomers Dennis Fudge, Sarah Holland and Michelle Hourie were all named to the board as were incumbents Don Sabo, Chris Finke, Cliff McLauchlan and Steve Shannon. It raises the number of people on the board to seven from five.

The board will decide who will occupy the executive positions — chair, vice-chair, secretary,treasurer — later this month.

Asked if he’s interested in remaining chair, Sabo said members have said they wish to see him continue and with the additional members, the job should be easier.

“It’s a volunteer position and there were quite a few hours I had to put in over the past year,” Sabo said. “Mind you, there were exceptional circumstances (with the school closures).

“It was a very challenging year but with the two additional board members, it makes it a lot easier. We can distribute the workload out amongst more board members.”

Cara Vanderkraats, who served as secretary, did not seek to return to the board.

Nominations and Elections

Dear PAC and DPAC Members

At our last April DPAC meeting, we formed a Nomination Committee to provide another way for parents to nominate people for the upcoming DPAC executive positions.  The elections will take place at the Annual General Meeting on May 3, 2010.  Nominations will also be accepted at the SD57 AGM, on the election day.

Currently, there are 2 Nomination Committee Members, please direct your call or email correspondence to either Michelle Hourie or Dennis Fudge.

Michelle Hourie, Nomination Committee Member
Tel. 250.966.2332

Dennis Fudge, Nomination Committee Member
Tel. 250.564.1555

All parents are encouraged to come out and vote at the Van Bien Training Centre at 7pm, located at: 311 Wilson Crescent.

Thank you,

Michelle Hourie
SD57 DPAC, Nomination Committee Member